Faculty Members Honored with Named Professorships

Faculty Members Honored with Named Professorships

Tubb, Brentari, and Bohlman

Three faculty members within the Division of the Humanities—Gary Tubb, Diane Brentari, and Philip Bohlman—have been recognized for their service and scholarship with named professorships. 

Gary Tubb, Professor of South Asian Languages and Civilizations and in the College, has been named the first Anupama and Guru Ramakrishnan Professor. A leading Sanskrit scholar, Tubb examines the tradition’s poetics, grammatical forms and commentarial traditions. Tubb is the author of Scholastic Sanskrit: A Handbook for Students (2007). Another book, On Poets and Pots: Essays on Sanskrit Poetry, Poetics and Philosophy, is forthcoming from Oxford University Press. 

Diane Brentari, Professor of Linguistics and in the College, has been named the Mary Werkman Professor. Brentari, PhD’90, studies sign languages from around the world to better understand their similarities and differences and to illuminate the properties that all languages share. Currently, her work addresses cross-linguistic variation, particularly the differences and similarities among sign languages. Brentari is the author of Sign Languages: A Cambridge Language Survey (2010) and A Prosodic Model of Sign Language Phonology (1998).

Philip Bohlman, the Mary Werkman Distinguished Service Professor of Music and in the College, has been named the Ludwig Rosenberger Distinguished Service Professor in Jewish History. An ethnomusicologist, Bohlman studies a wide range of topics related to music and modernity, with a focus on Jewish music and the politics of religion and race in the music of the Middle East and South Asia. Bohlman is the author of Revival and Reconciliation: Sacred Music in the Making of European Modernity (2013) and Focus: Music, Nationalism, and the Making of the New Europe (2011). Bohlman and the New Budapest Orpheum Society were the recipients of the 2011 Noah Greenberg Award for Historical Performance from the American Musicological Society. 

Read more about these honors from UChicago News.

Tagged with: 
February 24, 2016