Student Leadership Opportunities

Student Leadership Opportunities

The Division of the Humanities at UChicago offers graduate students the opportunity to develop leadership skills, which can be critical for personal and professional development, through a myriad of activities and programming. While many departments have ways for students to get involved within their specific department, there are three main opportunities for students to become connected from a divisional standpoint.

Dean’s Student Advisory Board

This advisory committee serves as a voice for Humanities students to provide input and suggestions regarding policies and procedures within the Division directly to the Dean of the Division, Anne Walters Robertson. Meetings are held twice per quarter typically in Weeks 3 and 7, and representatives are selected by individual departments.

Zsofia Valyi-Nagy, Art History 
zsvalyinagy@uchicago.edu 

Amy Skjerseth, Cinema & Media Studies
akjerseth@uchicago.edu  

Caitlin Miller, Classics 
caitlinmiller@uchicago.edu

Alia Breitwieser, Comp Lit 
aebreitwieser@uchicago.edu

Brooke Engerman, Digital Studies
bjengerman@uchicago.edu

David Hogue, EALC
dhogue@uchicago.edu

Michal Zechariah, English 
michalz@uchicago.edu

David Kretz, Germanics 
kretz@uchicago.edu

Laura Stigliano, Linguistics 
laurastigliano@uchicago.edu

Adrian Ray Avalani, MAPH 
arayavalani@uchicago.edu

Natalie Farrell, Music
farrelln@uchicago.edu

Chelsie May, NELC
chelsiemay@uchicago.edu

 

Kévin O. Irakóze, Philosophy
kirakoze@uchicago.edu 

Loriane Lafont, Romance Languages & Literatures
lafontl@uchicago.edu

Jo Brill, SALC 
brill@uchicago.edu

Marissa Fenley, TAPS
mfenley@uchicago.edu

Cameron Mankin, Visual Arts 
cfmankin@uchicago.edu

Fan Ge, Visual Arts
fange@uchicago.edu

Humanities Division Graduate Student Council

The Humanities Division Graduate Student Council (HDGSC) represents students in the Division of the Humanities, allocates funds provided by the Student Activity fee, and fosters intradepartmental, as well as interdepartmental and divisional, activities. Each department or committee in the Division of the Humanities will designate one representative to the HDGSC, and these representatives collectively form the HDGSC. The HDGSC will name officers to lead meetings, budgetary review, and communication.

2019-2020 representatives:

President
Jon Bullock, Music
bullockj@uchicago.edu

Vice President
Charles Wilson, NELC
charleswilson@uchicago.edu

The Graduate Council

The Graduate Council is the representative student government for graduate students and focuses on building community across graduate divisions, helping students get the funding they need to further their academic and professional pursuits, and working with administrators to improve graduate student life. Additional information about the Graduate Council can be found here.

2019-2020 representatives:

Andrew Malilay White, Music
andrewwhite@uchicago.edu

Rebecca Flore, Music
rflore@uchicago.edu

Aimee Gonzalez, Music
aimeegonzalez@uchicago.edu

Howard Sum Cheuk Shing, EALC
shum@uchicago.edu